top of page
  • Writer's pictureScott M

Spider living in Judith Hindle

May 1 2018

The pitchers just got a little more dangerous..



A spider has taken up residence in one of the newly opened Judith Hindle pitchers. I spotted it a few days ago. It was hiding behind a web, nearly invisible..


The spider in its web 4/29

This video starts with a moth in the hairs in zone 1. I think I knocked the moth in with the pencam. The spider wasn't in it's nest near the top of the pitcher, it appeared to be hunting trapped insects in Zone 3. (around 3 minutes in) The moth seems to have been temporarily stuck in the spider's web. I was hoping to see the spider capture it's prey, but I think I distracted the spider. It turned and stared down the pencam like it was intruding on it's territory.



Had some majore rain over the last couple of days and all of my Judith Hindle pitchers are full. Not sure if the spider escaped or drowned..


29 views0 comments
bottom of page