top of page
  • Writer's pictureScott M

Here there be Monsters! Midge larva are here

Updated: Aug 15, 2019

March 11 2019

A new monster has arrived in my bugbat. I've been seeing the little white blobs in the bottom of my pitchers for months now but this time something new is here.

And its huge (relatively).

These are the larva of either mosquito or midge

Or perhaps Blobs IN a Midge Larva


For scale, the white dots along the length of the animal are the little white blobs. They appear to be riding it like the sandworms of Dune. Or perhaps the blobs have been eaten.




This is probably a midge larva (i.e., Metriocnemus knabi)

compare to this picture from http://www.sarracenia.com/faq/faq5520.html


I believe this is the adult midge. My what a big antenna


20 views0 comments
bottom of page