top of page
  • Writer's pictureScott M

Frogs and Spiders in S. Bugbat

Updated: Sep 15, 2019

I went to check on my resident spider in my S. Bugbat and found a frog instead! I spotted 2 frogs on the outside of one of the bugbat pitchers Saturday 8/18/19. Only saw one today. I thought "Wonder where the other one went?" Well now I know.

I figure he's there for the easy food that the Bugbat attracts, the same as the spider. I was happy to see that the frog hasn't yet eaten the spider. We will see how long this truce lasts.

With any luck, maybe I will get a video of the frog catching prey in the pitcher. (like this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hlGg2HIUdYA )


Pencam lights on

Pencam lights off




Saturday


Sunday


I had spotted one of these frogs on my bromeliad the other day. He is quite camouflaged.



I guess I shouldn't be surprised I'd get a frog in my plants. They are everywhere, last year especially. It seemed I couldn't drive from home without finding a frog on my car.


He moved to another pitcher Monday.





15 views0 comments
bottom of page