top of page
  • Writer's pictureScott M

Smile for the camera! Blob rafting in S. Yellow Jacket



Amongst the problems filming inside pitcher plants is that the subjects are very small and they never sit still and smile for the camera. But occasionally, one will pose for photographs. I was filming in the S. Yellow Jacket and I got good footage of one of the blobs (mites). I had just finished filming underwater when a mite hanging out on an ant carcass floated by.

The mite didn’t seem to be in any hurry. It hung out there and let me film it for several minutes. I adjusted the pencam lights. On full, the mite shows up like a beacon. The mite is still visible at nearly no pencam lights. (This is a handy way to spot the mites amongst the boneyard inside the pitcher. I turn the pencam lights to low and look for moving reflective blobs. I can then focus on the blobs)


Pencam lights on full

Lights about half power





10 views0 comments
bottom of page