top of page
  • Writer's pictureScott M

Opening Day in S. Yellow Jacket

March 25, 2020

The S. Yellow Jacket was the second to have a pitcher open. I didn’t spot any mites on the lip of the pitcher. There are a few mites already colonizing the new pitcher. Check out the one around 2:45 minutes. Also, I spotted a new mite around 4:40 minutes. It has very dark spots along it's back end. I don't think I've seen that before.

I also caught a glimpse of a red mite to the right of the peristome. I tried to track it with the camera, but they are fast little guys and I didn’t get a decent video of it. I have seen red mites before. They are predators of other mites. I think it was here to eat the pitcher mites.

Mite around 2:45

Mystery Mite around 4:30

The newest pitcher to the left of the pencam

It's been a week and the trap still has no liquid in it. It hasn't rained much since it opened. There appears to be a fraction of a ml in the bottom, but that's about it. The ants have taken a interest in it, though. Several are investigating the lip of the pitcher.




April 6, 2020

The ants have arrived! It had rained and filled up the first opened pitcher. A dozen ants are here for a swim. Unfortunately for them, an army of blobby mites awaits them underwater.



Help! Help! We can't swim!

Hit this ant with the pencam. Heading down.

Out of focus mites underwater (This is why I call them blobs)

.





5 views0 comments
bottom of page